NDOC FEE SCHEDULE FOR PUBLIC RECORDS REQUESTS


Overview

These fees apply to all public records and will be posted on the Nevada Department of Corrections ("NDOC") website. Support Services is responsible for implementing the below procedures in accordance with the Nevada Public Records Law (Chapter 239 of the Nevada Revised Statutes ("NRS")). For further information, contact Nevada Department of Corrections, Public Information Office.  Contact via phone (775) 887-3309 or email bkeast@doc.nv.gov.

Per Chapter 239 of the NRS, upon receipt of a written request to inspect or copy a public book or record, the NDOC will comply with any such request to personally inspect such public records within five (5) business days of receiving a written request.

Inspection of such public books or records must take place during normal business hours, Monday through Friday, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM.

    Copies

    If a request for a copy of the public book or record is made, in accordance with NRS 239.052, a fee of 15 cents per page will be assessed for all requests for copies. The requester must remit a money order or check for the entire amount, payable to “Nevada Department of Corrections,” prior to the copies being made and/or delivered to the requestor.   All documents are reproduced in single-sided, black and white, format.  If the request is for an electronic copy of a public record or book, the copy and staff time fees will also apply if the public record(s) or book(s) need to be scanned prior to being sent electronically.  Additionally, if the request is for an electronic copy, the NDOC will charge a fee for the cost of the electronic removable media (i.e. compact disc, digital video disc, etc.) upon which the electronic copies are provided. If the request is for a copy of a video or audio recording of a public meeting that is subject to Chapter 241 of the NRS or other public record, and the use of NDOC personnel or technological resources required to fulfill the request does not exceed thirty (30) minutes, the requester will be assessed copying fee of $5.00 per compact disc/digital video disc.

    If the request is for a copy of a video or audio recording of a public meeting that is subject to Chapter 241 of the NRS or other public record, and the use of NDOC personnel and/or technological resources required to fulfill the request exceeds thirty minutes, the requester will be assessed the fee(s) for the extraordinary use of NDOC personnel and/or resources set forth herein required to fulfill the request plus the cost of the electronic removable media (i.e. compact disc, digital video disc, etc.) upon which the video or audio is recorded.

    If the request is for a copy of a video or audio recording of a public meeting that is subject to Chapter 241 of the NRS or other public record, and the use of NDOC personnel and/or technological resources required to fulfill the request exceeds thirty (30) minutes, the requester will be assessed the fee(s) for the extraordinary use of NDOC personnel and/or resources set forth herein required to fulfill the request plus the cost of the electronic removable media (i.e. compact disc, digital video disc, etc.) upon which the video or audio is recorded.

    The NDOC reserves the right to schedule and prioritize copying dependent upon department workload.

      Fees

      In accordance with NRS 239.055, if a request for copies of public books or records would require extraordinary use of personnel or technological resources, including the redaction of personal or other protected information, a government entity may charge a reasonable fee to comply with such an extraordinary request. The NDOC will charge the following additional fee(s) (billed, at a minimum, in half hour increments) when the use of NDOC personnel and/or technological resources required to fulfill the request exceeds, or is estimated to exceed, thirty (30) minutes: $20 per hour per staff member (grades 10-19); $30 per hour per staff member (grades 20-29); $40 per hour per staff member (grades 30-39); and $50 per hour per staff member (grades 40+).

      If the estimated extraordinary use of NDOC personnel and/or technological resources exceeds four hours, outside vendors/contractors may be utilized, under the direction of Support Services.

      All shipping will be USPS Parcel Post unless otherwise requested. The requestor is responsible for pre-payment of all shipping costs.

      When a fee is determined, the requester will be notified and must remit a money order or check for the entire amount, payable to “Nevada Department of Corrections,” prior to the request being honored. If the actual fee is less than anticipated, as quickly as possible, the requester will be mailed a check for the balance. The NDOC reserves the right to request that payments exceeding $100.00 be remitted in certified funds.

      If the NDOC has begun processing the requestor's job by preparing documents for copying, assembling, etc., and the requestor cancels the job, a fee for work done will be assessed. The invoice will detail the work done (e.g. who completed the work; how many pages were copied) and will be sent to the requester.