
RESTORATION OF CIVIL RIGHTS NOTICE 

 

The 2003 Nevada Legislature voted to automatically restore civil rights to first-time, non 
violent offenders upon expiration of their sentence or upon their honorable discharge from 
parole or probation. There is no cost to apply.  NDOC (for prison discharges) or the Division 
of Parole & Probation (for those who discharge from parole or probation) will provide 
documentation of the restoration of rights, which can then be taken to the County Voter 
Registrar or provided to others as proof. 
 
Automatic restoration of civil rights upon discharge does not apply to Category A felons, 
Category B felons whose crime caused substantial bodily harm, or felons with 2 or more 
convictions.  Those persons may, however, apply to the courts requesting the restoration of 
their civil rights. There is no cost to apply. 
 
The civil rights which are restored are: 

a) right to register and vote 
b) right to serve as a juror in a civil case 
c) if 4 years after discharge, right to run for and hold non-law enforcement and non-

judicial elective office 
d) if 6 years after discharge, right to serve as juror in a criminal case. 

 
A person whose rights have been restored need not disclose the fact of a criminal conviction 
to an employer or prospective employer, except if you are applying to work for government 
or approval for a gaming operator’s license. 
 
Former inmates who were already expired as of July 1, 2003 were automatically 
restored to their civil rights upon the passage of this law on July 1, 2003. Records 
older than one year will have to be obtained from State Archives so allow two weeks for 
response to this request. 
 
To apply to the Nevada Department of Corrections for the documentation of civil rights 
restoration, print out and fill out the form below and email it, fax it, or mail it to: 
 

NDOC Offender Management Division 
P. O. Box 7011 

Carson City, NV 89702 
 

Fax No: (775) 887-3243 
 

 
 
 
All other offenders who qualify will receive documentation of civil rights restoration upon their 
discharge from prison in Nevada.  Those who must serve parole first, must apply to P&P to 
get their documentation after they honorably discharge from parole. 



Request for Documentation of Restoration of Civil Rights 
 
 

Name: ___________________________________________ NDOC #: _______________ 
 
 
Date of Birth: __________________________  SSN: _________-_____-________ 
 
 
Date Released from Incarceration (if known):____________________________________ 
 
 
Current Mailing Address: 
_____________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
Current Telephone No: (_____)   ___________________ 
 
 
Please provide me documentation of the restoration of my civil rights.  I believe I am eligible 
for restoration of my civil rights because: 
 
 
_____ I discharged my sentence before July 1, 2003. 
 
_____ I have not been convicted of a Category A felony in Nevada or another state. 
 
_____ I have not been convicted of a Category B felony with Substantial Bodily Harm in  
            Nevada or another state. 
 
_____ I do not have two or more felony convictions in Nevada or another state. 
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