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History of difficulty obtaining State-Issued 
Identification in Nevada

• Many prisoners were released without state-issued identification or 
without the documentation (e.g., birth certificate, social security card) 
that would allow them to obtain state-issued identification. 

• Furthermore, Nevada’s department of motor vehicles did not accept 
prison documents as proof of identification. Without proper forms of 
identification, returning prisoners may not be able to apply for jobs, 
benefits, or housing. 

• In addition to the difficulties in obtaining state-issued identification, in 
1992, Congress passed a law withholding 10 percent of certain 
highway funds unless a state enacts a law revoking or suspending
driver’s licenses of anyone convicted of any drug offense for at least six 
months after the time of conviction. States can opt out of the law, limit it 
to drug convictions related to driving such as driving under the
influence of a controlled substance, and impose a longer period than 
six months. 
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What’s being done to mitigate difficulty of 
obtaining ID’s in Nevada – RAIN
(Re-Entry Account Fund – RAIN)

• The Department of Public Safety, Department of Motor Vehicles, 
Department of Corrections collaborated with the Religious Alliance In 
Nevada with efforts to assist released inmates with obtaining a State 
issued Identification Card.

• Presently RAIN has collected $15,000 for the purposes of assisting 
individuals incarcerated with obtaining a Nevada State Identification 
Card and Birth Certificate.

• Project Period award is from 07/01/2011 through 06/30/2012.

• As of May 2012, 1,122 inmates have benefited from theses funds.
• Nevada State Identification Card – 435

• Birth Certificate – 687

• $14,000 has been spend from this fund as of 5/17/12
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What’s being done to mitigate difficulty of 
obtaining ID’s in Nevada – SB 159

• SB 159 - Section 1 of this bill requires the Director to provide such an
offender with: (1) information relating to assistance for obtaining 
employment, including information regarding obtaining bonding for 
employment; and (2) information and reasonable assistance relating to 
acquiring a valid driver’s license or identification card to enable the 
offender to obtain employment if the offender requests such information 
and assistance and is eligible to acquire a driver’s license or identification 
card.

• The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is authorized to waive the $17 
duplicate fee for persons who have been released from prison within the 
past 90 days. You must supply official documentation of your release date 
from the Nevada Department of Corrections or its counterpart in another 
state.

• Request for Waiver of Duplicate Fees – Released Prisoners Form (DP 
190) are being issued to ever released inmates in the state of Nevada 
and are also being informed of the 90 day deadline.
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